TIME. NO TIME.

May 23 was the last day of classes at Cerritos College.  I eagerly looked forward to my six weeks of time off so that I could reconnect to my other world, which included family and friends.

I was thrilled to think about being able to catch up on all the bookkeeping that I had to do because I was too busy to get it done during finals week.  NOT!  I was thrilled to think about all the housework I had to do because I was too busy to get it done during finals week.  NOT!  Actually, my family was thrilled about that one.  In reality, I was thrilled about all the creative writing I had not been able to do during the entire semester because I was too busy to get it done.  YES, I was!

Well…Larry the Cable Guy would be sorely disappointed ’cause I did not “Git ‘er done!

My first week, I spent days getting my computer back to a state that I could call “fully functional.”  In mid semester, I had a meltdown after Apple advised me to erase and reinstall the OS.  Oops!  That didn’t work…three times.  Getting everything transferred from external hard drive(s) to my desktop took about four days.  Frankly, I’m not sure I have it all, but I know where to find it if I need it.

I managed to do a bit of gardening in the first weeks.  At least, now, my neighbor doesn’t shake her head sadly as she views my front planters that look like something from a Tim Burton movie – filled with dead or dying plants.  Jack Skellington would be proud, but I was not.

After my son pointed out that, “You have way too many clothes you’re not wearing,” I sorted everything and donated the “unworn” to the consignment store.  It does feel good to unburden oneself of too much stuff.  Oh, my gosh, it was Senior Discount Day!  We went right in and found a few things we really needed.  We got a 30% discount card, too!  Balance was achieved.

Although I did not accomplish my To Do List, there were small victories, indeed.

  • I rescued a road weary Lhasa Opsa who was living under the neighborhood cars.  Dexter is thrilled to be living with Miss Pat and the two monster cats.
  • I researched and purchased a new van.  When the appraiser writes on the bottom of his offer, “Approaching 300,000 miles.  SELL TODAY!” it’s time.  Actually, that van is was a living testimony to Honda having built a better mouse trap!
  • Joe and I purchased office furniture that will insure we are more organized in our small spaces.  That led to sorting of files, which led to dumping of files, which left us with a feeling of accomplishment.

There were a few other small victories along the way, but all-in-all, it has been a good start to mid summer break.

Now, get out of my way because I have a ton of work to do and July 7 is only four weeks away!

 

Leave a Reply

